Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 6, 2025

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave, NW Washington, DC 20050

Dear President Trump,

We write to express our deep concern about recent grant cancellations at the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). These cancellations will have a resounding impact on communities in every part of the country, costing jobs and harming local economies. We urge you to direct their immediate reversal and restore full funding of the NEA as authorized by statute and approved by Congress.

The NEA is a small but efficient agency, using its modest resources to ensure that the benefit of federal funds reaches every Congressional district. The cancellation of hundreds of grants threatens a wide range of initiatives, from apprenticeship programs to youth engagement to economic development planning. Many grantees are anchors in their communities, whether as employers and educators, prominent Main Street destinations, and tourist attractions. Lost grants will hurt budgets, contract programming, and may lead to layoffs – right as the crucial summer season kicks off for many organizations and small businesses.

Our relatively minimal federal investment reaches Americans who would not otherwise benefit from the arts. In 678 counties across the country – primarily in rural areas – the Endowment does more to fund the arts than the top 1,000 foundations. And the benefit is not just local. It underpins the \$1.2 trillion economic powerhouse that is the cultural sector, representing 5.4 million jobs and a \$36.8 billion trade surplus. In short, the bang for our buck delivered by the NEA is too significant to ignore.

The NEA fulfills an essential role in our nation's economic and cultural life, particularly as we look toward America250 celebrations next year. The Endowment's support for local arts organizations remains a cornerstone of its statutory purpose and of its value to local communities across the country. We urge you to restore the full potential of that value by reversing grant cancellations to local arts organizations.

Sincerely,

Chell R____

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Michael 1. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

May La Scanlen

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Patrick Ryan Member of Congress

Eleano H. Moton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress

all J

Don Bacon Member of Congress

ma /itas

Dina Titus Member of Congress

4 Nalle

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Pauls.tonly

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon Member of Congress

Debbie Dingel

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

ilian a

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Jugence ?

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

John B. Larson Member of Congress

udy Chu

Judy Chu () Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

liaig

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Sydnex Kamlage Dove Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Fecen E

Becca Balint Member of Congress

lefoner

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

7.

Lori Trahan Member of Congress

James P. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

21

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Ed Case Member of Congress

Jana Friedr

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Jelanie A. Stansburg

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Magazine Member of Congress

Maggie Goullonder Maggie Goodlander Mamb

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

V. Tokule

J**M** Tokuda Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Solines)

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Almada

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Erri Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

t hre

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

hh Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

me lasti

Mamie Raskin Member of Congress

Pris Pagoos

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Mille Jen

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

· Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Summer

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejardro Frost Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Shomari Figures Member of Congress

ulie Johnson

Julie Johnson Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Amosy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

h. Juis

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Pocan

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

an

Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

Penica Corobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Robert Garcia Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Jourher

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Leiner

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

unmen L. Lee

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

7. Hoyle

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

nanlel

Lois Frankel Member of Congress

Lasheda flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Boline Water of rlema

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Spanne S. trest

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Trank Pallon.

Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

Herbert C. Conaway, Jr. Member of Congress

OAOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Frederica . & Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Timothe M. Kennedy

Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

O.Cll

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

in Swelwell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

may MCBatt

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Cleo Fields Member of Congress

Aude J. Jain

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

mere

Shri Thanedar Member of Congress

. Or

Danny K. **D**avis Member of Congress

Mobin

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

prelle 5. fr

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Paus Dalate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Golden Jared

fared Golden Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

All GALL

Delia C. Ramirez Member of Congress

Janannendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Kennie

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress

194

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

my Gomez

Member of Congress

Page 10

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress Kansas Third District

ellie for

Nellie Pou Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

Deblie Wassern Sch

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

adelerne

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress