Skip to Content

Press Releases

After Push by Rep. Pingree, Biden Admin. Extends Protections for South Sudanese

On Monday, Pingree led a group of 34 Members of Congress in urging President Joe Biden and Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas to extend and redesignate South Sudan for Temporary Protected Status

WASHINGTON, DC—Following a push from Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (D-Maine) and 34 Members of Congress, the Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for South Sudan has been redesignated and extended for 18 months, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced Wednesday. This comes as South Sudan experiences new and escalating armed conflict, devastation from environmental disasters, and an intensifying humanitarian crisis, all of which qualify South Sudan for an extension and redesignation of TPS. TPS status for South Sudan was set to expire on May 2, 2022, but will now be in effect through November 3, 2023. 

“The violence, flooding, and widespread food insecurity—all while enduring the ongoing impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic—has created a great humanitarian crisis in South Sudan,” said Pingree. “I thank Secretary Mayorkas for acting swiftly on our call to extend these protections for South Sudanese. This 18-month extension furthers the American commitment to stand up for human rights and to provide safe haven to vulnerable populations.”

The Secretary of Homeland Security may designate a foreign country for TPS due to conditions in the country that temporarily prevent the country's nationals from returning safely, or in certain circumstances, where the country is unable to handle the return of its nationals adequately.

DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas extended and redesignated South Sudan for TPS for 18 months based on an ongoing armed conflict and extraordinary and temporary conditions that prevent individuals from returning safely. The recent military takeover of Sudan’s government has triggered political instability, violence, and human rights abuses against civilians. A humanitarian crisis linked to unprecedented floods; food and clean water shortages; violence between the communities of Darfur, Blue Nile, and South Kordofan; and internal displacement is ongoing.

Currently, there are 12 countries designated for TPS: Burma (Myanmar), El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen. 



Back to top