Skip to Content

My Work as House Interior Appropriations Chair

In January 2021, I was elected to serve as House Appropriations Committee Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Subcommittee Chair. I'm honored to lead the House Appropriations Interior and Environment Subcommittee at this critical moment. As Chair, I will fight to undo the harmful policies enacted by the last administration and provide the resources needed to preserve the long-term health of our environment. As a member of the Subcommittee for the past seven years, I have secured significant funding for Maine’s tribes, environmental preservation programs, our cultural economy, and our forests, and as Chair I will have the opportunity to put these priorities at the top of the Committee’s agenda.

The U.S Constitution specifies that “Congress—and in particular, the House of Representatives—is invested with the 'power of the purse,' the ability to tax and spend public money for the national government,” which falls to the Appropriations Committee. The House Appropriations Committee has jurisdiction over all discretionary spending but does not have jurisdiction over mandatory federal spending (i.e., Social Security, Medicare). The House Appropriations Committee, led by Chair Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.), is responsible for investments in families and communities across America, providing funding to create jobs, grow our economy, keep our country safe and secure, and build for the future.

A full list of the Interior Appropriations Subcommittee's jurisdiction can be found below:

  • Department of the Interior (except Bureau of Reclamation and Central Utah Project)
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Related Agencies
    • Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
    • Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (HHS) 
    • Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board 
    • Commission of Fine Arts 
    • Council on Environmental Quality and Office of Environmental Quality 
    • Forest Service (USDA) 
    • Indian Health Service 
    • Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture and Arts Development 
    • John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts 
    • National Capital Planning Commission 
    • National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities (except Institute of Museum and Library Services) 
    • National Gallery of Art
    • National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (HHS, formerly EPA/Superfund) 
    • Office of Navajo and Hopi Indian Relocation 
    • Presidio Trust 
    • Smithsonian Institution 
    • United States Holocaust Memorial Museum 
    • Eisenhower Memorial Commission 
    • Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Check out our newsroom!

Back to top